Motions - NED 3138 Protesting GIVE ME FIVE - FRA 3105, Shotgunn - IOM 31

Complete 18 Jul 2025 18:00 CEST

Requested By

Motions - NED 3138 at 18 Jul 2025 15:19 CEST
Represented by
Luke Deegan
How did you notify other parties?
Hailing Protest, Flying a Protest flag

Other Parties

GIVE ME FIVE - FRA 3105, Shotgunn - IOM 31

Incident

Race 2 Leg 2, Motions (Ned 3138) was approaching the left hand gate (4P) on Starboard, one boat length up from the port layline. Both Give Me Five (FRA 3105) and Shotgunn (IOM 31) were overlapped with each other and Motions, on Port, also approaching the left hand gate ( Mark 4P).

Neither boat on port took the necessary action to keep clear of Motions to give her room to go around the mark, resulting in a collision between all 3 boats, and resulting in damage to Motions. In doing so, Shotgunn and Give Me Five has broken Rule 18.2(a). Immediately after the incident Motions hailed protest and displayed their protest flag.

After the mark, Give Me Five (FRA3105) continued to sail on port for 2.5mins before choosing to take a 360 penalty turn. This was not completed as soon after the incident as possible, as required by Rule 44.2.

Outcome

Procedural Matters

NED 3138 hailed "Protest" and displayed a red flag immediately. The Protest was lodged within the time limit and it described the Incident. The Protest is valid.

The Protest Committee has reopened the hearing in accordance with rule 63.7(a)(2) and held the reopening in accordance with rule 63.1(b).

Facts Found

  1. Wind conditions at the time of the incident were approximately 5-6 knots from 90Β°. Wave height: 0.1m

  2. The incident occurred in the zone of Mark 4p of the gate.

  3. NED 3138 entered the zone sailing on starboard tack.

  4. NED 3138 was approaching the Mark.

  5. IOM 31 and FRA 3105 approached the zone on port tack, overlapped.

  6. NED 3138 entered the zone before IOM 31 and FRA 3105.

  7. Contact with minor damage occurred between NED 3138 and IOM 31 and FRA 3105.

  8. FRA 3105 took a penalty after 2 minutes.

Conclusions

IOM 31 failed to keep clear and give mark room to NED 3138 and broken RRS 18.2(a).

FRA 3105 failed to keep clear and give mark room to IOM 31 and broken RRS 18.2(a).

FRA 3105 compelled IOM 31 to break rule 18.2(a) and is exonorated under rule 43.1(a).

FRA 3105 has acknolwedged a breach of RRS 18.2(a) and so the Jury will not penalize her further.

Decision

IOM 31 is exonorated for breaking rule 18.2(a). FRA 3105 is scored RET in Race 2 and no further penalty is applied.