During Race 2, as we approached the leeward mark, Shotgun was overlapped to windward of us.
In accordance with RRS 18.2(b), we were required to give Shotgun room to round the mark. We acknowledge that we failed to provide sufficient room, which resulted in minor contact between the two boats.
We took a 360Β° penalty turn on the water as soon as possible, as permitted under RRS 44.1(a).
To our knowledge, Shotgun sustained no damage, and our own boat was only lightly touched, with no impact on our ability to continue racing.
Through this statement, we acknowledge our breach of Rule 18.2(b) and respectfully request that the jury take our voluntary penalty into consideration during the ongoing protest hearing.
See case 1.