we protest Hun 063 bow nr 63. while approccing down wind gate mark 4P , on stardboard tack ,we reached the 2 lengh from the mark on stardboard side. Hun was approccing on port side tack. Hun was well outside the 2 lengh from the mark. Then rounding the mark Hun 063 with high speed and genneaker up crashed our boat with bow sprint our stardboard side. According with rule 61.1 we informed the protested boat ( Hun 063 ) and the race commitee with voice , red flag and vhf on our protest. accordingly with above we protest Hun 063 for rules nr 18 - 18,2 - 10 and Due to the severe demage on our boat ( all the stardboard stanchion broked ) we cannot complete race nr 4 and all other races until repaires. During the colleasion one of our crew member follow in the water. we also requesr redress for all the races lost.
GBR 311X hailed "Protest" and displayed a red flag immediately. The Protest was lodged within the time limit and it described the Incident. The Protest is valid.
Wind conditions at the time of the incident were approximately 6-7 knots and there were no Waves.
The incident occurred in the zone of Mark 4p of the leeward gate.
GBR 311X entered the zone sailing on starboard tack.
GBR 311X was approaching the Mark.
HUN 063 approached the zone on port tack, and entered the zone more fast then GBR311.
GBR 311X entered the zone before of HUN 31.
Contact with significant damage occurred.
It was not reasonably possible for GBR 311X to avoid the contact.
It was reasonably possible for HUN 031 to avoid the contact.
Both boats retired from the race.
GBR 311X sought redress.
HUN 031 failed to keep clear and give mark room to GBR311X and broke RRS 18.2(a)
HUN 031 failed the keep clear to GBR 311X when it was reasonably possible and broke RRS 14
HUN 031 retired from the race which is the appropriate penalty.
In races race 4 β 6, GBR 311X's score was made sognificantly worse through no fault of her own due to the damge caused by HUN31 breaking rule 18 and 14.
Redress is given to GBR 311X. The redress is the average of her places in races 1-3 applied to races 4 - 6.