Warrior Won - USA 31074 Protesting Eker Süzme - TUR3150

Complete 12 Sep 2025 17:20 CEST

Requested By

Warrior Won - USA 31074 at 12 Sep 2025 16:58 CEST
Represented by
Richard Clarke
How did you notify other parties?
We immediately hailed protest and flew a red flag.

Other Parties

Eker Süzme - TUR3150

Incident

USA 31074 was on port aproaching the top mark. TUR 3150 was overlapped to leeward. As we got to Starboard tack layline we bagan to tack at which point TUR 3150 did a sharp turn into a tack resulting in their bow sprit stricking our starboard side at the runner blocks, causing severe damage that forced us to retire from the race.

There was no hail for "room to tack" from TUR 3150 until USA 31074 was already tacking.

TUR 3150 broke RULE 20 and RULE 13

We immediatly hailed protest and flew a red flag.

Outcome

Procedural Matters

Eker Süzme was represented by Sam Gilmour (Tactician). Warrior Won was represented by Richard Clarke (Tactician). Before the hearing the protest committee and the parties realized that Back battalion was not involved in the incident. Hearings No. 2, 3 and 4 were heard together with hearing No. 1 in accordance with RRS 63.2(b) since both hearings arose from the same incident. Protest Committee: Laia Vadell, Alex Duran, Inés Cabrer Decision given at 19:00

Facts Found

First rounding of mark 1, of race nº1 with 15kn and choppy sea.

WARRIOR WON overlapped bow-to-bow with EKER, both on port tack, and with one boat length in between.

There was another boat overlapped on leeward of EKER, more than 2 boat lengths laterally separated.

When they were approaching the starboard layline, WARRIOR WON was 4 boat lengths away from the mark. At this moment the leeward boat tacks.

When the third boat finished the tack, EKER asked WARRIOR WON for room to tack and immediately started tacking.

2 seconds after, when EKER was head to wind, WARRIOR WON started the maneuver.

2 seconds after there was a contact between WARRIOR WON starboard quarter and EKER’s bowsprit.

There was damage in 3 starboard stanchions of WARRIOR WON.

The third boat, who was sailing faster, beared away and overlapped on leeward with EKER.

When they were bow-to-bow, EKER was bearing away to a close-hauled course. And there was contact between starboard beams of the third boat and port beam of EKER.

There was damage on 2 port stanchions of EKER.

Both boats retired from race 1.

Conclusions

EKER failed to give WARRIOE WON time to respond after she hailed "Room to tack", and broke RRS 20.2(a).

After passing head to wind and before being on a close-hauled course, EKER failed to keep clear of Warrior won. EKER broke RRS 13.

After passing head to wind and before being on a close-hauled course, EKER failed to keep clear of the third boat. EKER broke RRS 13.

It was not reasonably possible for WARRIOR WON the boat sailing within the room to which she was entitled to avoid contact with EKER when it became clear that EKER was not giving room. WARRIOR WON did not break RRS 14(a).

EKER did not avoid contact with WARRIOR WON and the third boat even though it was reasonably possible, and broke RRS 14(a).

WARRIOR WON's score in race 1 was made significantly worse through no fault of her own by physical damage because of the action of EKER breaking a rule of part 2. Therefore, the requirements for redress in RRS 61.4(b) (2) are met.

EKER's score in race 1 was made significantly worse through her own fault. Therefore, the requirements for redress in RRS 61.4(b) are not met.

Decision

The protest is upheld. Since EKER took an applicable penalty, she is not further penalized under RRS 60.5(c)(2). Redress is not given to EKER. Redress is given to WARRIOR WON. WARRIOR WON is to be scored in race 1 points equal to the average, rounded to the nearest tenth of a point (0.05 to be rounded upward), of her points in all races sailed before the last scheduled day of the regatta if racing is later scheduled on that day, except race 1. No other boat’s score shall change.