USA 31074 was on port aproaching the top mark. TUR 3150 was overlapped to leeward. As we got to Starboard tack layline we bagan to tack at which point TUR 3150 did a sharp turn into a tack resulting in their bow sprit stricking our starboard side at the runner blocks, causing severe damage that forced us to retire from the race.
There was no hail for "room to tack" from TUR 3150 until USA 31074 was already tacking.
TUR 3150 broke RULE 20 and RULE 13
We immediately hailed protest and flew a red flag.
USA 31074 Request Redress for Race 1, as we retired from the race. This incedent happened when we were in 2nd place in the race, we belive that 2nd place would be a fair redress.
See Hearing 1.